About Parish

Ambasamuthiram was part of Veeravanallur parist till 1983. When the spiritual need of the Catholic people increases it was felt that it should be made a separate parish. This dream in the being on 10th May 1983. It was erected as a new parish. People are very much attached to church and one deep in faith. Most of the people are industrial labourer’s business men, Government Officials, Teachers etc. It is one of the Taluk of Tirunelveli District. It is a developing town

Francis Xavier S

Rev. Fr. Francis Xavier S

Parish Priest
Patron of the Parish

St. Joseph the worker



Church Name

St. Joseph's Church

Established On


Assistant Parish Priest


Succession of the Priests

1. Fr. Maria Jeyaraj SJ. 2. Fr. Appolin Miranda SJ. 3. Fr. David SJ. 4. Fr. S.L. Arulappan 5. Fr. Amirtharaja Sundar 6. Fr. Santiago 7. Fr. Rajesh Kumar 8. Fr. Joseph Johnson. 9.Fr.Simon Selvan I,


St. Joseph’s Matriculation School (School)
Run by Congregation of Immaculate Conception (CIC), Ambasamudram
R.C. Marava Primary School (School)
Run by Society of Jesus, Mary and Joseph, Vairavikulam (JMJ), Vairavikulam